The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission

Merit System Board

The Merit System Board is authorized by the Commission's enabling legislation (Division II of the Land Use Article, Code of Maryland, Section 16-103).  It is an impartial Board composed of three members: the Chair, appointed to a four year term; the Vice Chair, appointed to a three year term; and a Board Member, appointed to a two year term.  They are responsible for making recommendations and decisions regarding the Commission's Merit System.

Board members are experienced in personnel and employment issues; and commit to fair and impartial research, investigation and decisions on Commission policy and systems that adhere to best practices in employment. 

Merit Board Members:

  • Steven R. Cohen, Chair

  • Tanya Upthegrove-Coleman, Vice Chair

  • Michael Strand, Member

The M-NCPPC Merit System Rules and Regulations