- Our Departments
- Prince George's County Operations
- Historic Preservation
The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC), Prince George’s County Department of Parks and Recreation owns and operates a vast and unique collection of 180 historic properties. This includes two National Historic Landmarks (NHL) and 15 National Register of Historic Places (NR) properties, including the world’s oldest continuously operating airport (College Park Airport) and numerous historic sites that serve as museums and provide educational, recreational, and rental opportunities to residents and visitors.
The Historic Preservation Unit administers a multimillion-dollar budget and works closely with colleagues across the Department as well as external partners at the community, state, and national levels to preserve, conserve, and maintain these rare historic resources and cultural treasures in Prince George’s County.
Work on the Peace Cross began with the mobilization of the contractor, Worcester Eisenbrandt Inc. (WEI) and the highly visible installation of construction site fencing and scaffolding during the first week of February 2022. WEI, and their conservator Amy Hollis, have unique experience working on the creations of architect John J. Earley who designed and constructed the memorial. The project is now progressing with the selective demolition of unsound construction material, primarily at the top and on the north arm areas of concern in terms of loose material and moisture intrusion. WEI will continue with demolition around damaged areas to expose structural concrete. An engineer has visited the site to consult with the restoration team, and restoration work is continuing with demolition, investigation and analysis of materials.
Projects in Progress At-a-Glance
Rehabilitation of this 19th century benevolent African American lodge structure. This project includes painting, roof work, and siding repairs.
A partnership site with the Kettering-Largo Boys & Girls Club, this 1830 home is being repurposed and restored for use by the club.
Current work includes restoration of various outbuildings that supported the 1790 main house, including a dairy barn, smoke house, and 20th century concrete barn on this intact cultural landscape.
In conjunction with the renovation of the late 18th century main house, high tech scanning is being accomplished on the support buildings, including the tobacco barn, corn crib and stable.
Darnall's Chance House Museum
Current work on this 1740 site includes roof replacement, dormer repair, installation of parking lot lighting, and correction of drainage issues.
A new roof installation and interior millwork have been recently completed at this 1900 former Methodist chapel and center of Brookland's spiritual community. Current projects include work on drainage and additional parking.
Marietta House Museum
Multiple projects are underway at this Federal-era site, including window and door replacement, research on exterior architectural features, signage development and gutter repairs.
Montpelier House Museum
Reengineering and replacement of the HVAC system and improvements to ADA accessibility.
Newton White Mansion
The 1939 historic rental property is undergoing major roof work, as well as repair and replacement to windows and doors.
The 20th century vernacular wooden-framed schoolhouse is undergoing exterior siding and window renovations.
Oxon Hill Manor
This 1929 rental property is undergoing window repair, replacement, and refurbishment of exterior millwork.
Riversdale House Museum
An HVAC assessment and restoration of historic carpentry elements are currently underway at this 19th century site.
Snow Hill Manor
Current work at this 1799 historic rental property includes roof and window replacement, structural repairs, and interior restoration.
Surratt House Museum
Extensive ongoing repair to this 1852 home and tavern work includes complete replacement of the siding, drainage and walkway improvements, and landscaping.
One of the oldest surviving one-room schoolhouses in the county. Work on this 1884 structure includes hazmat testing, abatement, structural design, and floor replacement.